This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka is made up of 9 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Sri Lanka. Information on all primary administrative regions in Sri Lanka.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Sri Lanka alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Sri Lanka

There are 9 regions in Sri Lanka in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Sri Lanka
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Central Central Province1.2,558,716Kandy Kandy111,701
Eastern Province Eastern Province2.1,500,000Trincomalee Trincomalee108,420
North Central North Central Province3.1,259,567Anuradhapura Anuradhapura60,943
North Western North Western Province4.2,370,075Kurunegala Kurunegala28,571
Northern Province Northern Province5.1,058,762Jaffna Jaffna169,102
Sabaragamuwa Province of Sabaragamuwa6.1,918,880Ratnapura Ratnapura47,832
Southern Southern Province7.2,464,732Galle Galle93,118
Uva Province of Uva8.1,259,800Badulla Badulla47,587
Western Western Province9.5,821,710Colombo Colombo648,034